Ham Cups with Eggs

Image

My mom was a big fan of traditions. Every New Years Eve while my dad worked the night shift in the ED, my mom would gather up my sisters, brother, and I, and make us elaborate treats instead of our usual dinner. This included ham, swiss, and pineapple skewers, chocolate covered frozen bananas, petite fours, and plastic champagne glasses filled to the brim with sparkling grape juice. As we waited for midnight to arrive we would always watch “Sabrina” with Audrey Hepburn and Humphrey Bogart. Her very favorite part was the scene where she learns how to crack eggs one handed. One year on new years day my mom decided it was time I learned how to crack an egg “Audrey style”. She took out a big bowl and a dozen eggs. She showed me how to quickly crack and separate the shells using only one hand. Then she watched as I attempted to do the same. It wasn’t pretty and we spent a fair amount of time picking shells out of the bowl but after the first 6 eggs I figured it out and have done it that way ever since. That was probably 15 years ago but every single time I crack an egg with one hand, I think of her. When I have kids I hope I remember that it’s the little things you do with them that they’ll remember forever.

 Image

These ham cups with eggs are inspired by Gale Gand’s brunch cookbook and a few pinterest pictures. 🙂 Many of the recipes call for muffin tins but either my tins were too small or my ham was too large so I used ramekins instead. This breakfast is so delicious and can help you get rid of any leftover veggies you have. They are perfect to make in the morning since they can cook while you get ready and you can make as many or as few as you want.

 Image

Ham Cups with Eggs

Makes 4

  • 4 ham slices (1/16 inch thick)
  • 8 eggs
  • 1 big handful of spinach, roughly chopped
  • 1 Cup broccoli chopped
  • 1 Cup cheese (I used Colby jack)
  • Salt and freshly cracked pepper

Preheat the oven to 400F and butter your ramekins. Fold ham in half then in half again. Put the ham (point side down) into the ramekin and allow it to open. Carefully crack two eggs into liquid measuring cup (a paper cup would also work) then pour the eggs into the ham cups. Repeat with the remaining eggs (using two eggs in each ramekin). Top with spinach, broccoli, cheese, salt and pepper. Bake for 15-20 minutes, until whites are set but yolks are still a little runny.

Leave a Reply

